CHRIS & SARAH SHAW
Chris and Sarah live in Hatfied with their three children. Chris studied at university in Southampton and moved to this area when he graduated. He now works as an project engineer. Sarah trained as an OT, but is now at home with their children. She also has an online toy repair business.
TWO MINUTES WITH...
What are your main responsibilities within KCC?
Chris: I lead the PA team in providing and operating sound equipment for Sunday meetings
and other events. I also lead a community group with Sarah
Sarah: I am a community group leader, along with my husband Chris. I also co-lead KCC Little Ones, our baby and toddler group.
How long have you been a part of KCC?
Chris: In 2007 I got a job in the area and e mailed a number of churches looking for accommodation. I am very grateful to a few KCC stalwarts for allowing me to lodge in
those early weeks and, although I had every intention to visit a number of local churches
KCC quickly became my home.
Sarah: I joined KCC in 2007, having moved to Hertfordshire from York.
How did you become a Christian?
Chris: I grew up with Christian parents, so church has always been part of my life. However it
wasn't until Soul Survivor when I was 18 that my eyes were truly opened. I met loads of Christians who were serious and excited about their faith and began to see God quite differently. This all culminated when J John in his message asked "Where is God in your
car? Is He in the boot and you get Him out once a week? Is He in the rear passenger
seat or even in the front passenger seat but you're retaining control of the car? Is He in
the driving seat but you're directing? Or is He driving and you're going where He's taking
you?" That night I was baptised in the Spirit.
Sarah: I always believed in God and remember having conversations with Him as a small girl. I became a Christian at the Grapevine Christian festival when I was 11, during a meeting where I suddenly realised what Jesus had done for me.
How long have you been a Christian?
Chris: It was gradual for me so I'm not sure, but it was in 2003 that I was first baptised in the
Spirit.
Sarah:Over 20 years
What do you do to relax?
Chris: Watching a good comedy, be it stand up, panel shows or drama.
Sarah: I love to read, but if I get chance I like sewing clothes and toys, or cross stitch embroidery.
What is your earliest childhood memory?
Chris: One summer when I was three we stayed in a gite in Brittany where there was a
red pedal car. My memory of it is very faint but apparently I loved it!
Sarah: When I was three I had an operation, and I can remember the wendy house in the hospital play room.
What is your ideal holiday destination?
Chris: A tropical island, if money was no object, but for now I'm enjoying UK destinations with
Sarah and the family.
Sarah: My favourite family holiday was the Isle of Wight, but if money is no object I would love to visit Norway again.
What is your favourite film?
Chris: I'm one of those people who's not at all fussed about films, so I don't have a favourite.
Sarah: I couldn't possibly choose, I have so many. They include Sense and Sensibility, Phantom of the Opera, and The Little Mermaid.
What is your favourite takeaway?
Chris: Generally it's Indian, however there's a great Thai & Malay takeaway round the corner
from where we used to live in Welwyn Garden City.
Sarah: Thai/Malay